Garlic

IMG_2899

Dill, Broccoli and Marigolds

The dill isn’t as tall or large as last year. Perhaps it’s a different kind this year. It’s  been flowering so hopefully those heads will turn to seed in the next week for pickling some cucumbers. In the background you can see the tall sunflowers next to the corn.

IMG_2844Onions

His was taken almost a week ago and many more have toppled over and turned yellow. After the thunderstorms pass and the ground has had a chande to dry out a few days I will harvest these as well. Just in time for pickling season.

IMG_2802

Cucumbers

These have been flowering  over the last week. There are a few cucumbers about three inches long now so I will be doing some pickling this coming week! Having my own garlic, onion and dill to use will be very satisfying.

IMG_2817

Soybeans

These have recovered very well from the rabbit attack last month. I still have not tightened up the fence and actually chased one out of the garden a few days ago.

IMG_2718

Sunflowers

These are growing really tall – I believe the largest to stand eight feet tall. I have seen a few bees on them so I think they are serving their purpose well.

IMG_2815

Sweet Corn

The very first tassel has been spotted! I plan to try adding fertilizer this week. I haven’t done so in the past but it ought to provide a better harvest. Who knows, maybe it’ll get me a second ear this time.

IMG_2895

Garlic

74 bulbs of garlic have been harvested. I pulled them out a few days ago and let the  dirt out in the sun so that I could break it off of the roots more easily.

Leave a comment