Another month has passed me by

Not a whole lot had changed since the last post until this weekend. I planted soybeans around the 20th and they are now growing well. I also transplanted watermelon, sunflowers and tomatoes that week. This weekend I also planted corn and I think that the only thing left is cucumbers. I have been adding lots of grass clippings as mulch so that more organic matter gets added to the soil.

IMG_2363

Peas

The peas have probably tripled in height over the last two weeks. As you can see, they are starting to flower and soon we will be snacking and crunching sugar snaps.

IMG_2373

Corn

Before planting the corn seeds I soaked them in water for a few hours to speed up the germination. I also tilled a batch of compost into the soil before creating four raised rows. I added compost and garden soil from Lowe’s to each row.

IMG_2370

Soybeans

These are growing well but are starting to show signs of some pest eating away at the leaves. I will have to look into this and treat for the pest.

IMG_2372

Sunflowers

These were all started indoors and transplanted about two weeks ago.

IMG_2371

Onions

The onions are growing nicely in the center however the outside rows and not as large. I assume the outside rows accessed less of the fertilizer i has applied between the rows.

IMG_2365

Broccoli, Dill and Marigolds

I planted some of these marigolds directly into the garden and others I started indoors and transplanted (those are the ones blooming). The dill is slowly growing but the broccoli has double in size in the last week.

IMG_2367

Potatoes

Red pontiac on the left, kennebec on the right. I have been added soil and compost as they grow and I am close to the top of the trenches.

IMG_2369

Kale

Slow to start, its really starting to shape up now.

IMG_2364

 

Leave a Reply

